Poetry Friday: 1926 (part 3)

Hey, it’s still Friday in Anchorage, so I think this counts.  1926, among other things, was also the year that Dorothy Parker published her first volume of poetry, entitled Enough Rope.  It’s the source of many of her famously witty (and bleak) quotations about love and other such matters.  Among the poems is one I can’t quite make sense of–is it merely a joke?  Is it a satire?  A comment on some aspect of life?  I leave it to you—Dorothy Parker’s “Inventory”:

Four be the things I am wiser to know:
Idleness, sorrow, a friend, and a foe.

Four be the things I’d been better without:
Love, curiosity, freckles, and doubt.

Three be the things I shall never attain:
Envy, content, and sufficient champagne.

Three be the things I shall have till I die:
Laughter and hope and a sock in the eye.

Leave a Reply

