Poetry Friday: 1929

I’m having trouble finding the poems I want for 1929 (the Countee Cullen was out of the library today….maybe next week)…it’s an interesting year for American poets.  So I’m going with H.D. for today—I have to admit, I’ve never gotten as into her work as I know other people have.  I can appreciate Imagism as a poetic style, but H.D. hasn’t connected with me emotionally so far.  I’m intrigued by this poem I’m posting today, but not sure of it: if anyone has thoughts about whether it’s even any good, or what the poem is attempting to communicate, I’d appreciate seeing them in the comments!  So, from 1929’s Red Roses for Bronze, by H.D., this is “Trance”:

The floor
of the temple
is bright
with the rain,
the porch and lintel,
each pillar,
plain
in its sheet of metal;
silver,
silver flows
from the laughing Griffins;
the snows of Pentelicus
show dross beside
the King of Enydicus
and his bride,
Lycidoe,
outlined in the torch’s flare;
beware, I say,
the loverless,
the sad,
the lost,
the comfortless;
I care
only for happier things,
the bare, bare open court,
(geometric,
with circumspect wing)
the naked plinth,
the statue’s rare,
intolerant grace;
I am each of these,
I stare
till my eyes are a statue’s eyes,
set in,
my eye-balls are glass,
my limbs marble,
my face fixed
in its marble mask;
only the wind
now fresh from the sea,
flutters a fold,
then lets fall a fold
on my knee.

Leave a Reply

