An interview about Now in November, by Josephine W. Johnson

Blog veterans will remember my fulsome praise of Pulitzer winner Now in November, an account of a failing farm in the early 1930s, written as a first novel by Josephine W. Johnson.  The folks at website Rural Lit R.A.L.L.Y., who interviewed me back in the fall to talk about my Pulitzer project in general (and as it specifically relates to rural literature, their area of interest), were kind enough to make Now in November their featured book for January, which I think (and hope) is in part due to my advocating for its inclusion on their site.

In any case, as a part of their coverage of the novel, they’ve interviewed me again, only this time it’s actually a joint interview with me and a friend of this blog, Nancy Gluck, who writes a blog called Silver Threads that I’ve recommended to you all before (and which is always linked to in the right sidebar).  Nancy and I are a good pairing—both admirers of Josephine Johnson’s novel, but for different reasons, and we certainly express ourselves in different ways and draw on different life experiences.  I gained a lot from hearing what Nancy had to say, about the book and about books in general, and I hope you’ll benefit from having a look at what both of us have to say.  (Side note: If you’re not particularly interested in Now in November, you may want to check out the interview anyway for the question where Nancy and I are each asked to give some book/author recommendations, since neither of us talked about Pulitzers.  And I call an audible at one point and talk about The Grapes of Wrath, for you Steinbeck fans out there.)  Here’s a link to the interview.

Leave a Reply

